Welcome To Man Vs. Dog

“Erm… it’s not going to be this big is it?”

I never liked dogs as a kid. To me, they were smelly, noisy, hairy and took up too much of your time for not much in return. When my brothers in their youth proposed the idea of getting a dog to my parents, I was quick to shoot the whole idea down.

For almost 28 years, I have lived a dog-free existence. I have left books on the floor, electronic devices on low tables and assorted items of clothing wherever I want.

That is about to change.

After resisting for several years, my girlfriend Helen (avid dog lover) has persuaded me to get a puppy (half Newfoundland Poddle (I am not calling it a Newfypoo) and half Old English Sheepdog).

It was no mean feat. I demanded the following:

a) A full breakdown of costs (one time and monthly) for the dog to make sure SHE could afford it (This was then sent to dog-savvy friends for verification).

b) A guarantee that I would not have to:

  • walk the dog early in the morning
  • pick up dog poo
  • pay for anything (unless I wanted to)
  • feed her
  • essentially do anything unless I wanted to

c) Any mess and breakages would be cleaned up/replaced by her

d) I get to pick the name

All of the above was agreed to and here we are – 48 hours from getting a puppy… and I still haven’t decided on a name.

So what’s the point in this little site? Well,  I see it as an experiment – whether I, Timon Singh, long time member of the “I don’t care about dogs and their stupid furry faces” club can, over time, learn to appreciate them.

It will also chart the almost guaranteed disasters, fights, breakages and hopefully the feelings of warmth and ownership I am assured will follow.

It might even be cathartic.

However right now, the only feeling I have is one of deep foreboding.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome To Man Vs. Dog

  1. Tim Popple says:

    I grew up with a yellow labrador, from the age of 7 to 16. He was stupid, slow, took all kinds of shit from the cat, and would run if you left the gate open. But when I came home from school, upset for one reason or another and, without a word, would go straight upstairs to my room, it would be mere minutes before Lucky (for that was his name) would trot upstairs, nose my bedroom door open, jump up on my bed, and nuzzle me. Dogs can instinctively know how you feel. It’s like some freaky Peter Parker shit. I miss that dog every damn day. One day, when living arrangements allow, I’m getting a dog, and we’re going to go on crazy adventures and stuff. It’s going to be awesome.
    And you should totally call the dog Boomer.

  2. Hugh Mason says:

    Ti, just found this whilst absent-mindedly trawling through facebook trying to burn an hour or two before work.
    What can I say… You still make me laugh. Pups are great. I hope you grow to love it despite all the little moments of ‘what was I thinking?’
    Keep up the blogging.
    Hugh

Leave a Reply

