What’s In A Name? That Which We Call The Dog…

Helen’s trump card in persuading me to agree to a puppy was that I get to name it. Of course, this immediately peaked my interest.

As a fan of film, history and all things geeky, a world of options were now open to me that I would never in a hundred years be able to name my firstborn.

As the puppy was female, that immediately ruled out the likes of Thor, Spartacus, Chewie and Caesar, but it did mean I could still have some fun.

So what awesome female names could I potentially name the puppy? Suggestions came thick and fast: Some good (Juno), some bad (Bubbles) and some just plan weird (Volcania?!).

A work colleague also pointed out that you had to have a name that a) you wouldn’t feel stupid yelling out in the park and b) would roll off the tongue when you were telling it off. That discounted Andromeda.

However after a few days of browsing my DVD collection, a few potentials jumped out – a mixture of Ancient Gods, sci-fi heroines and whatever caught my interest.

Seeing as Helen has never seen an Alien film, she didn’t get why Ripley would be an awesome name and veteoed Scully.

That pissed me off.

Firstly where did this power to veto come from and secondly Scully is a brilliant name. Sure, it’s her dog, but these are the rules she agreed to and it’s not my fault if she can’t handle the pure awesomeness.

So, back to the drawing board… and then it came to me.

Now The West Wing is one of my favourite TV shows ever and is responsible for creating arguably one of the best female characters ever – CJ Cregg.

As The White House Press Secretary, CJ handles her fair share of challenges but does so with biting wit and grace. She’s also really tall and considering the size that this puppy could potentially grow to, I thought it was ideal.

It was then pointed out to me that CJ is also the name of Pamela Anderson’s character in Baywatch – so double win!

So there we go – the puppy’s name is CJ and tomorrow, it arrives.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s In A Name? That Which We Call The Dog…

  1. Tom Hunt says:

    I have coincidentally just finished re-watching The West Wing this week and CJ is an awesome choice! Scully would have been a great choice too 🙂

Leave a Reply

