Initial Teething Problems… In That She Keeps Biting Me

“Yeah, those are my fingers.”

So at the end of the first week, things are still going ok. Helen is doing all the work, waking up at 3am to let CJ out to do her business, picking up any waste and doing all the training. Me? I’m still staying in bed and continuing my life as normal. However that is not to say I am not getting involved.

As Helen can’t be with the puppy 24/7, there are moments when the two of us are left alone. This has led to rather one-sided conversations and failed attempts to play catch. However CJ has recognised me as ‘the fun one’.

While Helen has asserted herself as the ‘Alpha’ with all the training and feeding, I have been recognised as “the one that will scratch my belly and has socks that are nice to lick.” As a result, she is prone to following me around very closely to the point where I have almost stepped on her a few times.

In the past 24 hours however, CJ has become a bit bitey…

Whether it’s my hand or my toes sticking out the end of the bed, CJ has decided she likes to give them a good nibble, leading to some very unmanly shrieks.

“She’s going for the face. Not the face.”

However it could be justified after an unfortunate incident the other day. Our garden is full of sticky weed and it seems CJ loves to dive headfirst into it, resulting in her being covered with little seeds. Inevitably this means Helen and I have to pluck them out of her fur.

This was what was happening the other night; Helen was combing the seeds out of her fur and asked me to take over while she checked on the dinner. As I started to pick them off CJ’s face, I noticed one just under her eye. As I tried to make a grab for it, CJ started to fight me and bite my fingers. Calling for Helen’s help, I asked her to hold CJ while I tried to free the seed from under her eye. Helen then pointed out to me that it was not a seed, but CJ’s tear duct.

Whoops. No wonder she wants to bite me.

P.S. She is also quite the escape artist having busted through the first baby gate Helen installed, as well as her crate (once the bedding had been taken out). This was sorted with the installation of a brand new baby gate, but led to a embarrassing situation with me not being able to figure out how to open it. It seems I am now locked out of my own kitchen.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Initial Teething Problems… In That She Keeps Biting Me

  1. Anh says:

    Those local cats look down right thuggery. CJ should take care!

  2. Kat22 says:

    Awwwww she’s adorable!!!! Love this blog. It’s like a rl “Marley & Me”. 🙂

  3. littlevixen says:

    LOL OMG I cant believe shes biting you. Thats sooooooooo cute lol. Maybe you shld teach her to bite those horrible cats lol. I love CJ as a name aswell my dad loves the West Wing but i find it too complex. CJ from baywatch is more my sort of girl lol 😉 xxxxx

Leave a Reply

