Finding Common Ground… And My Tasty Socks

So after two weeks together, CJ and I have developed a mutual understanding that has been cunningly orchestrated by Helen. Sticking to the original agreement, Helen has continued in the training and waking up every two hours to let CJ outside to do her business, but has slyly been making me spend more time with her.

Under the disguise of cooking me dinner, Helen has demanded that I play with CJ to ‘tire her out so that she will sleep all night’. As such, CJ and I have been sat on the carpet playing either “Let’s find Timon’s feet and bite them” or the world’s worst game of fetch… where I go and retrieve what I have thrown.

That is not to say there hasn’t been progress. CJ has stopped biting my ankles and prefers instead to nibble my toes and maul my socks. She also now sits when I ask her to and seems to like sitting next to me if I’m on the floor and getting me to scratch her belly. I know what you’re thinking – awww, how adorable.

That’s the good. There is also the bad.

Firstly, I have accepted I have now lost my beanbag to her. While we had a good time together, I have now realised that when CJ is lying on it, she immediately calms down and veges out. This means I can do likewise – albeit on the sofa. Helen has said that she will buy me a new one, so I have started sourcing my next floor throne.

CJ’s multiple ‘accidents’ have also left several dubious stains on the floor. Despite Helen’s initial clean-up, they still appear as dodgy patches so, in accordance with the original agreement, I have decreed she clean the carpet properly post-haste (maybe with an industrial cleaner). I believe there may have been certain responses about me getting stuffed…

Also dog food smells. It really does. Especially that dried crap. I am noticing a distinct dog food smell whenever I get home from work – that is going to have to change asap. CJ’s ability to crash into my shins will need addressing…

I know I’m exciting, adorable and resemble a large Wookie, but there have been numerous cases of CJ running to greet me, face-planting into my leg and me treading on her paw as a result. This has resulted in me almost crushing her and a lot of yelping and swearing. Still, I know it comes from a place of excitement – so I guess it’s ok.

This was summed up this weekend, when I was away in London for work (did I mention I was at Empire Big Screen?). I got a text from Helen saying: “CJ’s been searching the house for you. She’s convinced you’re upstairs and keeps trying to jump up them!”

Common ground? Maybe I meant mutual acceptance.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

