With Large Feet Comes The Ability To Jump On To Everything

CJ has grown quite a bit over the last few weeks, though not as big as the vets would like. Apparently she is ‘underfed’, which can only be attributed to Helen a) not feeding her enough b) not feeding her food she wants to eat or c) her burning off massive amounts of calories through excessive jumping, running and bouncing. Oh yes, she bounces. With gusto.

At first it was kind of cute (and hilarious) that when I returned home from work, she would bounce up to me with such excitement she would trip over her own feet. Now as she has gotten bigger, she can leap up onto the sofa, up into my lap to steal food from my plate and, as she did last night, swipe the glasses off my face. Granted I was kneeling down at the time, but my point is still valid.

The last couple of days has also seen Helen begin to vent her frustration at my refusal to do anything. Currently she gets up three times a night to let CJ out and quite frankly the sleep deprivation has made her considerably more irritable. It’s either that or me opting to put my feet up and watch TV, while she’s trying to simultaneously write a dissertation, feed CJ and tire her out so she will sleep later in the evening. It’s a toss-up between the two.

It is the evenings that are causing the most problems – this is the time when CJ most wants to play having been left on her own for most the afternoon. The thing is, when I get home I often have some freelance work that I like to get done immediately, so that I have the rest of the evening free to do what I want. Unfortunately, my presence back home immediately makes CJ more excitable and demanding. However in my mind, work comes first and playtime later so I have to try to write a few articles with a puppy jumping up and down for my attention.

Now I know what you’re saying. You are probably saying a) play with her first and work later or b) go upstairs and work so she can’t get at you. All good points, but quite frankly I like working on the sofa as soon as I get home. I have a routine and I like to stick with it.

So how do you counter an excitable puppy who, in the last few weeks, has realised she can leap up on to sofas? Well, currently I can momentarily distract her with cuddly toys, send her out to the garden or, my personal preference, get Helen to deal with it. Hey! This means more training time and thus far, that’s going well. She ‘sits’, ‘lies down’ and ‘paws’ on demand. Unfortunately, ‘go away’ and ‘get off my laptop cables’ are still being ignored.

However I’m not completely useless. The other day was bath time, after CJ decided to run through her own filth, and there I was pointing, laughing and taking pictures while Helen tried to shower her and stop her from jumping out of the bath. I did help dry her though.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

