Man Vs. Dog: The Six Week Appraisal

On the eve of my holiday to Japan and New Zealand to enjoy the sights, the sounds and the Rugby World Cup (oh yeah, be jealous), I thought now would be a good time to evaluate the past six weeks.

Since CJ moved in, there have been ups, downs and that one time when I accidentally tripped over her. So, let’s start the appraisal.

Man Vs. Dog, six week appraisal of living with a puppy, six weeks after living with a puppy, the good the bad and the ugly man vs dog

The Good

1. Yeah, she’s cute

Ok, I’ll admit it – CJ is quite adorable. Whether it’s the excitable yapping upon my return from work, her napping on my lap while I play the PS3 or chasing me around the park, she is quite the loveable puppy.

2. She likes going driving

Whenever I take her to Ashton Court, CJ sits in the front seat and looks out the window. This is cool, because it makes me feel like Han Solo and that I have a miniature Chewbacca at my side.

3. She attracts women folk

Women like cute things. CJ is cute. I will let you figure the rest out or refer you to this earlier post.

The Bad

1. The house is starting to smell

This was my biggest fear about getting a dog. Whenever I went to a homeowner’s house, I could always detect ‘that dog smell’. Now, I am realising that is what my own home is beginning to smell like. Despite the multiple air fresheners I have placed around the living room, I can still smell a combination of wet dog, doggy snacks and poo.

Also the conservatory is now mostly filled with soil, shredded leaves and grass.

2. Helen keeps leaving dog stuff out

I blame the dog smell on this. Lying around the kitchen and the porch are unused dog snacks and poo bags (thankfully unfilled). Also the damp dog towels are not washed often enough for my liking, which I also think is adding to the aroma.

3. I have lost my beanbag

My gaming beanbag is officially hers. I need a new beanbag.

Also, she likes to jump up on the sofa which has made eating increasingly difficult. What’s worse is that unless the beanbag is on the floor, she won’t jump down. That’s right, she’s scared of heights.

4. Other dog owners

God, they’re so dull. Whether they’re enquiring about what kind of breed CJ is or telling me all about their multiple dogs, there is nothing more tedious then being trapped in a conversation with a group of middle-aged dog walkers.

Oh and if I have to hear “Oooh, she’s going to be big” one more time, I am going to start getting sarcastic and flippant… which I hear middle-aged folk don’t appreciate.

What makes it bearable though is watching CJ attempt to box dogs that are five times her size.

The Ugly

1. Helen getting angry that I don’t do stuff

Granted she has her dissertation to finish, but Helen has been increasingly angry with me this week.

It’s not like I’m being a complete bastard – I’ve taken CJ out for a couple of walks in the evening while she works, but I have drawn the line at sorting out her dinner and constantly taking her into the garden in order to “make sure she goes to the toilet.”

That wasn’t part of the original deal and I’m sticking to it.

So all in all, yeah it’s going well but we’ll see if CJ even remembers me in two weeks time. I’m sure she will – I’m awesome.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

