How Peace Was Achieved Between Man And Dog… With New Toys!

X CJ the puppyX dog toysX first time dog ownerX getting a puppyX helen harfieldX man vs dogX newfypooX newfypoo growth spurtX newfypoo puppy toysX old english newfypooX puppy frisbeeX puppy toysX timon singhX timon singh c

“Please play with me.”

CJ is currently doing laps of the living room while I write this. I’m sat on the sofa and she is running around me like she’s on fire. I don’t know why – she should be tired as we’ve just spent the past 20 minutes playing with her new toys. That’s right – new toys!

X CJ the puppyX dog toysX first time dog ownerX getting a puppyX helen harfieldX man vs dogX newfypooX newfypoo growth spurtX newfypoo puppy toysX old english newfypooX puppy frisbeeX puppy toysX timon singhX timon singh c

Toys are awesome. Everyone thinks so, but there are three main groups that know so – men, children between the ages of 2-8 and, as I learnt this week, dogs.

My previous blog post charted how an evening with just me and CJ descended into barking, anger, frustration, mud and eventually, me drinking lots to calm me down. To apologise for leaving me along with an excitable puppy, Helen decided to clean up the house and after a couple of hours, the kitchen and conservatory were mopped and they looked like the day we moved in. Of course within 10 minutes, CJ had muddied the floor, but I appreciated the effort.

One of the main sources of ‘mess’ are CJ’s toys. Previously, Helen has gotten her cuddly toys like a pineapple and a duck which she has, over time, shredded to pieces. In order to prevent more stuffing and pieces of toys strewn across the living room, I agreed to accompany Helen to get some ‘tougher toys’ from The Range. Oh and also get some new door mats to soak up the amount of water and dirt, the excitable sponge seems to absorb.

I decided if I was going to use these toys to play with CJ they had to meet certain criteria:

1) Last more than a month

2) Not be shreddable

3) Entertain me

With that in mind, I choose (and Helen bought) one of these things and that most fun of all toys – a frisbee! All attempts to play fetch with CJ have resulted in a trek to find and recover the ball, so I was hoping even if she didn’t get the idea of a frisbee, I’d still be able to play with it.

I shouldn’t have worried. She loves it – both of them. The little minx now ‘drops’, ‘sits’, ‘waits’ and ‘fetches’ when ordered and chases the frisbee like there is tomorrow. That’s right, I have complete control again!

Though she has promptly shredded one of Helen’s new house mats.

About Timon Singh

Timon Singh lives in Bristol, England with his girlfriend Helen Harfield. He is a graduate of Liverpool University where he received a degree in Social and Economic History. He is currently a Creative Copywriter and does freelance work for Den of Geek and Inhabitat. An avid film geek, he can often be found on his sofa basking in the power of his home cinema system. He can also be found on Twitter: @timonsingh
This entry was posted in Article and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Peace Was Achieved Between Man And Dog… With New Toys!

  1. mcchubbin says:

    Dear Timon,
    I found your blog via the EmpireOnline forums and as a fellow dog owner, I fell in love with your irreverent and humorous tales of dog ownership. You tell it like it is and I can relate to you on many levels. CJ sounds both adorable and rascally and I find much amusement in your writings. Keep it up! 😀

    -Chubsy

Leave a Reply

